Regional Representatives Of Council Of State To Be Elected Today

| Updated Apr 02, 2017 at 8:00am



Election of Regional Representatives of the Council of State begins today at 10 am.

The Electoral Commission says ten centers have been designated for the election.

Speaking to Radio Ghana on preparations, the Director of Public Affairs of the EC, Eric Dzakpasu, said, all the one hundred and thirteen candidates have been vetted and meet the requirements.

A total of 113 candidates between the ages of 23 and 84 are contesting in the election which will take place in all regional capitals across the country.

The Council of State is enjoined by Ghana's 1992 Constitution (Reference Chapter 9, Article 89) to "counsel the President in the performance of his functions".

The council is required to “consider and advise the President or any other authority in respect of any appointment which is required by the constitution or any other law to be made in accordance with the advice of, or in consultation with the Council.”

The council, upon request or on its own initiative is to “consider and make recommendations on any matter being considered or dealt with by the President, a Minister of State, or any other authority established by the Constitution.

Last week, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo appointed 11 persons to the Council of State,in pursuant to Article 82(2)(d) of the Constitution.

Meanwhile, reports say former Member of Parliament (MP) for Ningo-Prampram, Enoch Teye Mensah has withdrawn his bid to represent the Greater Accra Region at the Council of State.
The report say reasons for his last-minute decision is “personal”, a letter written by him on Wednesday 15th February, 2017] said.

A notice of poll of persons contesting the Greater Accra regional slot on the Council of State earlier this week showed the long-serving National Democratic Congress (NDC) member had put in his nomination to represent the Greater Accra region on the Council of State.

The NDC executives of the Ningo-Prampram constituency expressed regret about the former MP’s decision, saying it would send wrong signals to the grassroots members of the party that he has joined the New Patriotic Party.

The withdrawal letter, is said to be addressed to the Regional Electoral Director of the EC.